Daily Archives: May 29, 2012

Mother’s Day Cinderella

Standard

My family always asks me what I would like for Mother’s Day and I usually come up with about 10 things I need or would like to have.  This year was no different.  But this year I asked for a doll.  That’s right, you heard me correctly.  I asked for a doll. 

Now, this is all my daughter’s fault, because she’s the one who introduced me to them in the first place.  On one of her trips home from college we went shopping and we were just about ready to leave the mall when we saw a huge display of dolls in the Disney Store.  She’d been shopping with some girlfriends and had seen these dolls before and wanted to take another look. I never say no when it comes to looking at dolls, so I went enthusiastically along. 

Inside the store they had these Disney Princess dolls that looked like little children.  They’re called  the Animator’s Series.  Anyway, there were so many choices and they were all so cute, we had a hard time deciding which one we liked the best.  We ended up getting Belle for my daughter’s 21st birthday. 

“Belle”

Well, after that I really wanted one of those dolls too, only it took me forever to decide which one I wanted.  I finally chose Cinderella, although Pochahontas and Rapunzel were my other two favorites.    Here’s my Cinderella doll. 

“Cinderella”

Here’s some advice for you too.  Unless you have a lot of will power, do not go into the Disney Store!  You won’t be able to decide which doll to buy, then you’ll spend way more  money than you should, then your husband will be extremely mad at you and you won’t enjoy your new doll.  Better to stay away!  Or not…………………..

Feya and Galina win a First Premium Blue Ribbon!

Standard

That’s right!  You heard it here first!  Feya Balabina and Galina Ulanova won a First Premium Blue Ribbon at the Multnomah County Fair over the Memorial Day weekend!  I entered the pair of them in the crochet/original design category.  In addition to my blue ribbon, I also won a small amount of cash.  But really, I just did it for fun.  I really enjoyed looking at all the other entries as well.  Now I know what kind of talent I’m up against and will probably prepare an entry for next year.  I might even enter something in the Oregon State Fair.  Since it’s not until the end of August I have a while to think about it. 

Anyway, here is their photo as they appeared on display at the Multnomah County Fair.  If you look very closely you can see my reflection in the display case as I’m taking their photo.

Feya and Galina at the Fair

 It seems as thought they’re having a little trouble standing up, but I think they were just not put back in their stands properly. Here are the two prize winners at home showing off their ribbon!  I am so proud of them.  You can see they really like each other as well.  

Feya and Galina with their blue ribbon

My daughter Assunta also won a prize at the fair, but I would be spoiling it for her if I gave you any more details.  To see her entry and her prize go to her blog peculiarcrochet.wordpress.com.